by jane simpson

Big Flower, Little Dog

Sorry about the quality of this photo. Life has been complicated enough lately that the simple act of posting this picture is a great accomplishment.

Having felt rather uninspired lately, I took a trip to a local art store. Yummy. I should do that more often! They were having a sale on full sheets of 140 lb. Arches cold press — pretty much my all-time favorite paper. I snatched up 20 sheets and plan to go back for more.

I’ve been using cheap paper so long, I forgot how nice it is to paint using the real thing.

And since I got such a nice deal on full sheets, I decided to start using them. In full. No more tearing them into halfs or fourths. No guilt!

I also got myself a little art table that tilts. Good thing, I really didn’t have any good place to paint on these big sheets.

Anyway, here’s my first effort.

watercolor flower, Arches cold press, 140 lb, full sheet (22" x 30")

The dog is there mainly to show the scale of the painting.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: #WTF: robot called Big Dog « Ralphie´s Portal

  2. Jane..you should get back at it. Your painting is great! I am loving the large size scale of it. Love the color and composition with the borders. I agree, It is hard to stay motivated to create everyday. My next blog post, which will hopefully be today…or tomorrow, is about art journaling. I have found it the easiest way to wet my appetite on a daily basis. Sometimes an easy 5 min doodling can get me in the mood. Look forward to seeing more:) Julie

    10-November-11 at 10:29 am

    • Thanks Julie! I am still having trouble getting motivated, but I’ll be back! I promise!

      20-November-11 at 7:45 pm

Leave a Reply

